here we go!

So I am not a typical new year’s resolution type of girl…. yes, I pretend like I’ll go to the gym more and eat more veggies but nothing ever comes of it! I am not a fan of the word “resolution”,  it isn’t inspiring or motivating to me. This year I am setting goals. I am going to dream BIG and push myself harder. I going to finally put myself out in the open!

I picked up a DSLR camera in November and haven’t put it down since. I have always been an all or nothing kind of girl… so I’m sure this doesn’t surprise many of you when I say “I’ve completely dove into this hobby 110%”! Yes, it has only been a month and a half! Yes, I have TONS to learn! Yes, it is kind of insane…. but I love it!

So what brought this obsession about?! After our wedding, I reflected back on our milestones and gushed over every photo album. I love being able to look back on those massive grins, tears and corny dance moves from our big day. The moment you get brought back into time through a single image is why I am persuing this passion. I want to make sure our journey as husband and wife gets captured. Being able to share each step with family and friends is important to us! Giving that same feeling to others is an added bonus!

2012 was a year of beginnings! Getting married, purchasing our first home and setting down our roots as a family… 2013 is for building! I want to become a better wife, friend, photographer, and daughter. (Sorry no kids yet gang!) I am lucky to have such an amazing support system behind me where I feel like I can do anything that I dream up! I have a long road ahead of me when it comes to this photography thing…. here are a few goals I would love to tackle in 2013:

  • Obtain 500 facebook fans
  • Set out a blog schedule and follow it
  • Hold 25 photo sessions
  • Support local photographers and build a network
  • Create a blog (one down! yay!)
  • Second shoot for a wedding
  • Get experience in all categories (family, maternity, engagement, etc)

I’m excited, nervous, anxious, and giddy about the future! After Saturday’s session, I got a great fortune! The journey has just begun….buckle up and hold tight for the ride!

IMG_5399

This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to here we go!

  1. Leah says:

    Proud of you Megan! Thanks for doing a wonderful job shooting LaMonica family pics!

  2. bryan says:

    hey megan your blog looks awesome!!! Hope your enjoying photography your work looks great. If you really want to take it to the next level though, you gotta have a photo shoot with me. That would skyrocket your brand into the stratosphere, for reals.

  3. Michele Chase says:

    So clever, so talented, so lovely, and mostly so lucky ( me to have you in my family!) Can’t wait to follow you on your 2013 + journey!

Leave a Reply

